iCloud

myTracks has got iCloud support both for the Mac and the iOS variants. When iCloud support is active myTracks synchronizes GPS tracks and bookmarks between all your iCloud enabled devices. On the Mac you can decide on a per-track basis whether a track is copied to iCloud or not. If iCloud support is enabled on an iOS device all tracks are copied to iCloud automatically.

Besides the tracks itselves you can copy the related photos to iCloud as well. On the Mac you can decide on a per-photo basis whether the photos are copied to iCloud or not. If you select one or more photos to be copied to iCloud you can specify the size and the JPEG quality of the files. You always have to choose the size and quality deliberately because the photos will consume space of your iCloud quota. It's also possible to remove the photos from iCloud afterwards. If you record a track on an iOS device and take photos while iCloud support is active myTracks will automatically copy the original photo files to iCloud.

Activate iCloud for your device

In order to use iCloud with myTracks it must first be activated on your devices. On the Mac, open System Preferences and then select iCloud. If you are not yet signed in, you need to sign in with your Apple ID. Depending on the OS X version you have to activate either iCloud Drive or Documents & Data:

On iOS, iCloud must also be activated. To do this, open the app Settings and then switch to iCloud. If you are not yet signed in, you have to sign in with your Apple ID. Then activate either iCloud Drive or Documents & Data:

Activate iCloud support in myTracks

On the Mac you have to active iCloud support in myTracks preferences dialog on the iCloud tab page. You can also specify whether new tracks are added to iCloud automatically:

To activate iCloud support on an iOS device first tap the button with the star icon and then switch to the iCloud page:

Deactivate iCloud support

When you disable iCloud support you have to select how to proceed with the tracks stored locally and in iCloud. You have to select one of the following actions:

When you disable iCloud support on an iOS device myTracks will automatically remove the tracks from the device but they will remain in iCloud.

Updating GPS tracks

When a track has been changed (name, description, color, track points, etc.) it will be updated in iCloud automatically and is available on all your iCloud enabled devices afterwards. If you move a track to another folder it will me moved to that folder on all your devices as well. However, the sorting of tracks within one folder is not synchronized between the devices.

Adding tracks manually

If a track has not yet been added to iCloud you can do the manually. In the track library you will find a column called iCloud. If you activate a track's corresponding cell myTracks copies the track to iCloud. If a minus symbol is shown in the cell myTracks has started copying the track. If a check is shown the tracks has been copied to iCloud successfully.

If you deactivate the cell myTracks will remove the track from iCloud. Related photos that have been added to iCloud will be removed as well.

On an iOS device you cannot decide per track whether to put the track in iCloud or not. When iCloud support is enabled myTracks will always copy all tracks to iCloud.

Adding photos

If you add a track to iCloud on the Mac myTracks will not copy the related photos to iCloud automatically. If you want to add one or more photos of a track to iCloud you have to select the track first and also have to switch to the photo list. At the bottom of the list you will find the button with the iCloud symbol as shown in the following screenshot:

If you select one or more photos in the photo list and press the iCloud button afterwards myTracks will copy the selected photos to iCloud. If no photo is selected myTracks will copy all photos of the track to iCloud. In any case a dialog is shown when you press the iCloud button. You have to select the size and the quality of the photos to be stored in iCloud:

You can decide whether to store the photos with the original size or whether to store a scaled version. In any case myTracks will copy the photos as JPEG files to iCloud so that they are readable for iOS devices. During this step myTracks does never modify your original photo files. Even if you remove the photos or the complete track from iCloud myTracks will never touch your original files.

To remove one or more photos from iCloud you have to select these photos first. Then click the iCloud button. myTracks will detect that the photos are already stored in iCloud and asks whether you want to remove the photos from iCloud.

On an iOS device all the photos taken with myTracks will always be copied to iCloud if iCloud support is enabled.

Back to main page